Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse | Sign In | Register
OEMA Awards

Presented at the OEMA banquet, held during the annual conference, the below awards are nominated by peers and regarded as a significant achievement in the field of emergency management. 

Innovation, Collaboration and Service Award

Recognition of those who have made an outstanding contribution in the creation or promotion of a new service or program, collaborated for team improvement or provided exemplary service to the field of emergency management. For example, this may include, but may not necessarily be limited to:

  •  Achieving excellence in the development and delivery of emergency management programs aimed at promoting preparedness and resiliency.
  •  Consistently exceeding standards for the delivery and/or development of emergency management training programs.
  • Collaborating regionally or state-wide on an initiative that may provide significant guidance to emergency management programs, policies, or practices.
  • Developing a practical model to identify and overcome barriers and improve interoperability in the emergency management profession.

The nomination must highlight the special or exceptional quality of training or initiative which makes the nominee a candidate for the award.

  • Any OEMA member, supervisor, or elected official may nominate an OEMA member, team or organization from public, private, nonprofit or combination thereof.
  • Award may be granted as a Member Award or a Partner Award
  • Selection is done by the OEMA eBoard.


Emergency Management Volunteer of the Year

A volunteer that has been active in emergency management over the past year and has done a significant job on projects or events that made a difference to local, county or state programs.

  • Nominated by the OEMA membership and selected by the OEMA eBoard.


The Scott Porter Award

An individual who shows exemplary commitment to the Oregon Emergency Management Association (OEMA) in time and energy.

Scott was a member in good standing with OEMA for over 24 years. During his tenure with OEMA he served as OEMA President and the Bylaws Committee Chair. Scott attended almost every membership meeting and always kept us on the straight and narrow when we unintentionally strayed from our purpose.

The person who receives this award does so in his honor and supports the mission and goals of the Association and fosters the public / private partnerships of colleagues through collaborative efforts.

  • Nominated by the OEMA membership and selected by the OEMA eBoard.


Emergency Manager Professional of the Year

Open to public or private sector emergency managers, at any level, that have been active in the State of Oregon in the past year and have done a significant job on projects, events or incidents that positively impacted the field of emergency management.

Nominated by the OEMA membership and selected by the OEM Director and the OEMA President

Oregon Emergency Management Association | PO Box 7309 Beaverton, OR 97007